Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

Wooo, Packing!


I am busy packing up all the things I might need for my month in America. As a packer, I tend to be slightly “I might need this” but also somewhat realistic in what actually needs to be taken and what I can buy while there if necessary.

So my packing list is something like this…

Clothes:

  • 3 long sleeve shirts
  • 2 singlets
  • 2 t-shirts
  • 1 dress (+ pretty belt and stockings)
  • flannelette pajamas
  • bikini (it is summer over there after all)
  • day jacket
  • 5 pairs socks (1 woolen, 2 ankle, 2 regular)
  • undies
  • 3 bras (one white, one strapless, one comfy)
Misc.:
  • Towel
  • Spare AA batteries
  • 3 books
  • iPod
  • camera (+ spare battery and 32GB memory card)
  • Tablet
  • First aid kit (bandaids, aloe vera, calendula, codral, arnica, panadol etc.)
  • Travel journal for random notes and recording booking numbers
  • Plastic sleeve folder that has absolutely all my documents and references for my trip
  • Extra passport photos
Toiletries:
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste
  • hairbrush
  • contact lenses
  • eye drops
  • liquid foundation
  • finishing powder
  • eye shadow
  • mascara
  • 2 lipsticks
  • eye and lip liner
  • eyelash brush
  • Misc. makeup brush
  • deodorant (+ a small roll-on for the flight)

Electrical:

  • 2 power adapters (one earthed, one not)
  • tablet charger
  • micro USB cord
  • iPod USB cord
  • Laptop (make sure you take the battery with you in carry-on if you are putting the laptop in your checked baggage)
  • Wireless mouse
  • Headphones

Shoes:

  • Thongs
  • Black “nice” flats
  • Nike Hi-Tops

Wearing on the plane:

  • fleece jacket (for cold airplanes, late night bus stops, etc)
  • scarf (see above)
  • The Wolf Hat
  • Track pants (for comfort and warmth)
  • ballet flats (I did consider wearing my Nike Hi-Tops, but they are a bitch to get on and off and US security makes you take your shoes off, plus ballet flats will be easier to take off and not lose during the flight)

 

As you can see, I tend to pack even the stuff I can get over there if necessary, but I kinda like having it there good to go when I need it. Sorry if this was a tad dull, I’m hoping I’ll find it useful when I pack to come home too!

Oh yeah, and..

  • Passport

 

Time to power down the laptop and put everything in my backpack. Stay tuned for my guide to surviving or even enjoying long haul economy flights, and my first day in Los Angeles!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
