Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

Is Nude Modeling Empowering?


So a little while ago I did a shoot with an absolutely wonderful photographer called Andy. I have shot with him a few times now and each time I thoroughly enjoy myself, mainly because he is a nice guy who offers great conversation and a brilliant photographer. You can visit his website here.

Anyway, we were talking about how I want to be a writer and he asked why I don’t write about my modeling. My initial answer was that I didn’t think people would find it interesting. Andy was kind of bewildered at that. I suppose it is quite interesting/obscure but I’ve never thought of it that way. It is just something I do as a hobby. In hindsight I have learned a lot from doing it, including photography. I can tell you a little about lighting and how it affects a photo. I don’t know all the technicalities, but I’ll get there I guess.

So why do I model nude anyway? I do nude modeling because I love meeting people, and a special kind of creative beings tend to shoot art nude. I’ve met photographers who are martial arts ninjas, who need medical transplants, who do accounting in Africa. I’ve met people who work in mental institutions and people who have frog cakes tattooed on their arms. I do art modeling because I suck at other kinds of modeling, and find satisfaction when a photo is created that is somewhat beautiful and makes people pause for a second to consider the slopes and curves that are created by an incredibly imperfect body.

One thing I hear is that women feel empowered when they model nude. I personally don’t get that. I don’t feel more powerful because I model nude. Maybe because to feel empowered you have to have felt powerless at some point…

3 comments on “Is Nude Modeling Empowering?

  1. Nicole
    June 15, 2012

    I think it depends on how you personally define the term empowerment. From a community developement, social sciences point of view, empowerment it not necessarily associated with a gaining if power, rather it is concerned with the development and discovery of new skills and abilities, sense of self and identity, self confidence and the discovery of the individual that they have the knowledge, capacities, skills and attributes to achieve what is desired. Perhaps this is more what people mean when referring to feeling empowered. I, however, have never done anything like this, and never will particularly given the nature of my chosen profession, so really don’t know how it would feel. But I can see where you are coming from if you associated being empowered purely with the loss of gain if power. Interesting thoughts 🙂

    • Kodiko
      June 15, 2012

      I think skills, abilities and attributes are powers, which can be gained. If self-confidence is an attribute that can be gained then that is what I mean by empowering. I guess I mean gaining more power over yourself rather than someone/thing else.

      And yes, I can understand how careers and professions can stop people from making this kind of art!

      • Nicole
        June 15, 2012

        Absolutely! So, I can see why women can feel empowered by being part of this artistic expression, without necessarily feeling powerless, although perhaps it may have something to do with this as well. Power, power dynamics and empowerment are such an interesting discussion topics!

Leave a Reply

