Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

What to Do When You Have No Idea What Direction To Go In


Two of my friends/study buddies recently posted some articles/blogs. The first is here, at Lip Magazine, the second is here, on ~Joy~ blog.

At least go glance on them, so you have a general idea of what they are about. Go on, I’ll wait.

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

Done? Cool.

Now, it seems to me that these delightful young women have no idea what they are doing or where they are going in life. And that freaks them out.

Let me preface all this by saying, I don’t know what this feels like, this whole not know where I’m going thing. Sure, I may change my mind every few months/years, but at least I have an idea, and furthermore, I have a plan.

I think planning is key here.

When I was 14 I couldn’t decide between being a psychologist, a film maker or an architect. I liked drawing, so I figured architecture could be fun. Plus they make a decent salary. So off to TAFE I went to get my Diploma of Engineering Drafting to streamline my entry to uni without senior school. I did that for a year, failed my first class ever and decided it wasn’t what I really wanted anyway. Or at least, engineering wasn’t. Maybe I’ll go back to uni later and study architecture, just for curiosities sake. But I digress.

I then decided I was going to study English, because I love writing. Authors can get paid a decent salary too. So off I went to Flinders Foundation Course, for international students and mature entry peeps who didn’t have a year 12 score handy. I went along to the university open days just out of curiousity. I was fairly sure a Bachelor of Arts was the way to go, straightforward and to the point. But then, in North 2 lecture theatre, my aspirations were switched yet again. Bachelor of Media, hell yes! I could major in Creative Writing. I could learn skills apart from writing that would give me a backup plan while I wrote my novel to make my millions. Sounds like a better plan than what I had before.

Two years later I am a second year of BMEDIA (Creative Writing) + Dip.Lang. (Italian) with a high credit GPA. Could be worse.

 

So that is my career aspirations so far. The sensible ones anyway. I did briefly entertain the idea of becoming a stripper or some other high paid job. Kidding Mum!

Now, my plans for the future don’t have much to do with a career. When I graduate I will travel full time for 2-5 years, before coming home, maybe publish a novel or two, have a family, do the mum thing, maybe work in publishing if they’ll have me, etc. It isn’t much, but it is a vague direction based on what I enjoy doing and what I value, which I think is key here.

 

So, my advice, one soon-to-be graduate to another:

1) You don’t need to have a career to be successful. Decide what success means for YOU.

2) Trust that there will always be someone who has your back. You will NEVER be left cold and alone. If you feel like that is the case, a) see whether you are being realistic and/or b) do something to change that.

3) You are responsible for your own happiness.

4) Have a plan, but be flexible enough for the plan to change.

5) Know what makes you happy, and do/work towards that.

 

Questions to think about:

In ten years, what do I want to be able to say I’ve done?

What do I value?

If I were to die soon, how would I be remembered?

 

I know I’m just blabbing to the ether, but maybe it will help someone.

 

Best wishes,

Kodiko

 

3 comments on “What to Do When You Have No Idea What Direction To Go In

  1. Pingback: You’re Never Too Young to Dream Big – LA Day 2, part 1 « Kodiko

  2. RobS
    June 2, 2012

    A plan now theres a thought.
    I left school at 15 because I was sick of it and worked in a shop for two years. From there I went and got an apprenticeship as a fitter and turner, good fun but average money. Then it was on to selling tyres and finally into an engineering business doing all sorts of stuff but ending up as a sales rep. Where am I now well at uni doing a degree in social work, think I finally found what I really want to do.
    Its taken a while but its been fun and I never really had any specific plan on where I was going or what I was going to do. The most important thing that I have got out of all of this is dont just talk about it DO IT.
    We can all bitch about something in our lives we dont like but how many of us take that one extra step and actually change something. That is what is important, being prepared to step out of that comfort zone just occasionally

  3. cassandrajoy23
    June 1, 2012

    Love it! Yes I think I just need to keep my mind open. Maybe it’s cos I’m sick that Im drawing on it too much… Maybe I’ll go to take next year and do a 6 month course and get a decent job, anything to get out of hospitality. But thankyou babe, hopefully someone can give me some direction!

Leave a Reply

