Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

Literally the Best Pumpkin Soup Ever…EVER


Just a super quick post about this evening amazing discovery of delicious pumpkin soup. I make that sound like I’ve never had pumpkin soup before. Well, I have, but this was beyond amazing.

Ingredients

olive oil

1 onion

1 large teaspoon crushed garlic

ground cumin

ground nutmeg

salt and pepper

1 pumpkin (my butternut weighed 1.7kg)

1 sweet potato

1 litre stock (chicken or vegetable, I used the latter)

cream (optional)

 

Method

Cut up all the veges.

Heat oil in soup pot and cook onion for a few minutes until soft but not browned.

Add garlic and spices (a good shake of each, I knew I had enough when my eyes were watering, lol) and give a good stir to get everything dispersed.

add pumpkin, sweet potato and stock and cover.

simmer for about 30 minutes or until the veges are soft

put the soup in the blender in batches (you will need a second large saucepan to put the smooth soup in)

serve in bowls and dribble with cream if you want. I also grated a little more nutmeg over the top, but again optional.

 

Amazing soup, I promise! Will take some photos and add them shortly too. The only downside to this is cutting up the damn pumpkin, it took as long as it did to cook it…

This is the perfect dish for blustery autumn weather like we have been having here in Adelaide today, and I am so excited about the leftovers for dinner tomorrow and probably the night after too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in Food and tagged , , , , , .
