Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

Roast Vegetable Cous Cous Dinner


Hello!

Time for another recipe with unspecific quantities and measurements. If you would like to see my first, you can look here.

Tonight for dinner I made a dinner that consisted of roast vegetables, chicken and cous cous. This recipe was born out of having a few left over veges and a bit of left over store bought BBQ roast chicken, and I wanted something delicious and semi-salad to eat. Sick of eating just junk and carbs every day, need some vegetables dude! That said, my lasagna the other night was pretty freaking awesome. Hot tip, add nutmeg to the bechamel sauce. You can thank me later.

Moving right along! First you need ingredients! I’m going to preface this whole thing by saying you can use whatever veges take your fancy.

What I Used (to feed two, we have leftovers though):

6 New (Baby) Potatoes

1 Red Onion

1 sml Sweet Potato

1.5 Carrots

2 dessert spoons of Honey

3/4 cup cous cous

ground cumin seeds (a good pinch)

1/4 cup sultanas

1 chicken breast + left over BBQ roast chook

some Honey

What I Did:

Preheat the oven to 200*C (my oven is fan forced, if you care to know). Cut up veges. I left my baby potatoes whole, cut the carrots into eighths long ways (that is, halved and then each half cut into quarters), cut the sweet potato into 1 inch thick rounds and then cut each round into quarters. The onion was quartered too.

Put the veges into a roasting pan and drizzle liberally with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The recipe I was looking at said 2 tablespoons of each, but I couldn’t be bothered making the tablespoon dirty, so I guessed. Grind salt and pepper on too if you like. In a pyrex jug melt/heat two dessert spoons of honey by placing it in a small pot of heated water. Drizzle the honey over the veges and toss everything together so it is all nicely covered. I used a spatula to help me.

Put the veges in the heated oven and roast for about 45 minutes or until they look on the darker side of golden, tossing/redistributing glaze halfway through.

When the veges are nearly done cook up the chicken in a saucepan. I added a dessert spoon of honey to the chicken as well, but if you don’t want to you don’t have to. When it was basically done I added the shredded bits of left over BBQ roast chicken just to heat it up as it had been in the fridge over night.

Make the cous cous by placing it in a medium sized bowl, add the sultanas and cumin (and any other spices you think would work well) and give it a good mix until combined. Add the boiling water from the kettle and cover until the water has been absorbed. I’m not sure how much water I used… basically I filled it up until the water level was about 1cm above the cous cous.

Put everything on a plate in a decorative and aesthetically pleasing way (if you like, it will still taste the same either way), and nom nom nom…

Like last time, no photos sorry…mine wasn’t very aesthetically pleasing anyway. Still delicious though! And like I said, you can use whatever veges take your fancy; parsnips, zucchini, celeriac, broccoli, etc etc.

Here is the original recipe, though why you would want it when you have my awesome variation is beyond me 😛

Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2012 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
