Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

My Only Piece of Advice for Photographers


Hello again, having a good day? Mine has been a bit long, but am getting through it…

Had a lovely surprise when I got home though, photos from the lighting workshop! Here was my quick post about that. And here is one of the, uh, family friendly photos:

😀

“If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will

have to settle for the ordinary.” – Jim Rohn

Dare to be a little unusual… For more lovely shots from the shoot, go here. WARNING: 18+ and NSFW (Not Safe For Work). Use the arrows to scroll through.

For a long time I was  little nervous about telling people I am a freelance art nude model, and I still am a bit. It would be a lie to say that I don’t care what people think of me, but I don’t care enough to let it govern me. Still, this post will automatically be shared on my facebook feed so there it is, written on the internet for any one of my “friends” to see. I am not ashamed of my modeling, or embarrassed about my body (usually). It is ironic that western culture is completely over-sexualised, but people still get embarrassed, outraged and disgusted by nudity, even harmless photos like mine. Or maybe it is the act of it. But really what is the argument against it? “How dare you have a healthy enough self-esteem to parade your body like that!” “How dare you be comfortable enough with your sexuality to be OK naked in front of strangers”. The latter I can understand, and don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against people and models who aren’t comfortable being nude, just don’t label me because I am.

Working with first time nude photographers is always funny, and the only decent piece of advice I can offer is “Don’t be obsessed with the nudity”. Sounds a little counterproductive given what the subject of the photo is, so I suppose I could expand that to “Don’t be obsessed with the nudity as a sexual object”.

It is a subject, not an object, in your photographs.

(Photo copyright: Nick Hayes of Ellenik Photography)

 

Any questions? Feel free to comment if you have something to input!

2 comments on “My Only Piece of Advice for Photographers

  1. Kim
    March 26, 2012

    Hi Jari, go girl, love everything about you! have decided, however, to stay at a safe Mummy distance and not peruse the collection of your photos 🙂 love Mum xxx

    • Kodiko
      March 26, 2012

      Haha, whatever you prefer 😛

Leave a Reply

