Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

The Little Things That Mean a Child’s Happiness


I loved my childhood. In all honesty it was brilliant. I grew up with a single mother who did an awesome job of making money go a long way. I don’t feel I missed out on much, if anything. I am now 18 years old and have lived in 14 different houses, including my current one. But I don’t mind it, all the moving. I don’t know how much affect it has had on my journey through existence, but time will tell I guess. I might always be a nomad of some kind. But anyway, I want to talk about the awesomeness of my childhood, some of which I have become even more acutely aware recently.

1. Children’s TV

As a kid my favourite shows were Arthur, Babar, Franklin the Turtle, Sesame Street, Bananas in Pyjamas, Playschool and Pingu. I’m talking the 1997-2002 type time frame here. Been watching a bit more ABC Kids lately than is probably normal for an 18 year old, but it is soooo much better than regular day time TV! Anyway, recently seen a few episodes of Babar and Arthur and still find them as entertaining as ever. Playschool seems to have gone on a slide, I miss George, Angela, John, hell even Monica was pretty cool. And of course there was Noni!

Angela and George!

John!

Monica Trapaga in Play School mode.

Monica!

Pingu was awesome, but I think the creators were high, or maybe it’s just a foreign language, haha!

2. Christmas

Christmas is easily, by far my most favourite time of the year, even to this day. We have some rather set traditions at my house in regard to Christmas… A fortnight prior to Christmas Day we decide what food we are going to have, staples include Apricot Nectar cheesecake, whole leg of ham, curried eggs, prawns, cold meats, salads, trifle, and ridiculous amounts of chocolate. Two days prior to the big day we begin baking, biscuits, cakes, anything that can be left a few days and still survive. Christmas eve day is also a flurry of baking. The tree is up and decorated usually up to a month in advance with presents being placed underneath as they get wrapped. Candy canes are sometimes hidden within the branches, along with chocolate Christmas decorations. The Parents usually rush off for hours into their bedroom or the shed and we are given strict instructions to not enter under any circumstances! We lay out giant stockings on Christmas eve, along with milk, biscuits and carrots and early to bed for all of us, though it takes hours to fall asleep…. Christmas morning; the children can get up whenever they want to, but are forbidden from touching any presents or stockings. The parents may only be woken up at 6am or later and while they have coffee and cigarettes the stockings can be broken into. They typically contain chocolate, little bits of jewellery and other knick-knacks, plus a year’s supply of undies and socks. Once the parents are awake we break into the presents. A child is designated as “Santa” and they get to read the labels and distribute the presents one at a time accordingly. Typically, the present unwrapping process goes for about three hours. Each child gets a box that is NEVER big enough for all the presents, and we usually have an extra large box to put all the useless wrapping paper in. After presents, we go get dressed and begin baking! Christmas Day is always the salad type stuff, cold meat platters, prawns, curried eggs, all that fun stuff. By about 1pm the table is groaning and we all sit down where ever we can find room. By we, I mean my family and I, and anyone else we have managed to rope in to devour the feast. Pull the crackers, read the lame jokes, put on the crowns and then time to eat!!! Like I said, it always takes days for us to fully demolish our food supply. The rest of the afternoon is spent in childlike bliss, playing with toys, getting high on sugar, and doing whatever else our parents will let us get away with. It truly is the best day in the year.

With fond memories and ‘to be continued…’,

Kodiko

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2010 by in Arts, Events, Food, Life, People.
