Kodiko

Most things we write come out of a moment of enthusiasm

Ed-u-ma-ca-tion


At the moment I am studying for my Diploma of Engineering Drafting (Design). I suppose that doesn’t really mean a lot to most of you. Basically I get to learn how to draw structural steel connections and concrete reinforcements. Exciting, right? Ok not really.

image002

 

So why did I decide to this course, given that it is as boring as bat shit?

I didn’t want to do year 11 and 12 at high school. Way too much stress for much to small a target. Basically I could either spend 2 years stressing my ass off to get a number, OR I could study for my diploma for a year and half and get straight into University from that. I chose a course relevant to what I wanted to do at Uni, which is Architecture. By doing Engineering I am guaranteed a place in Architecture at Uni, plus I have a fully employable qualification by teh time I am 18 years old and engineers are in high demand. There is one problem which I have already highlighted though: I detest Engineering and all its little technicalities. I am essentially a creative person, and the idea of creating usable, functional art, such as in a building, inspires me. I am not however the kind of person who wants to work out how much a beam will flex if I use a steel beam which 30 people on the end of it. That bores me to tears and I struggle to stay awake. It’s not that I don’t like maths, I enjoy learning about maths, it’s more that I don’t like APPLYING maths. So knowing that I hate my course and can not complete it, what happens to my university aspirations?

As it turns out, my year of diploma study has not been a waste of time and I can still use it to apply for university. I have applied for a Bachelor of Arts with an English major and will couple this with either screen studies or criminology, both fascinating topics. From there I hope to do some kind of journalism and continue on the path of creative enlightenment and eventually rule the world!!! Ok… maybe not…

Peace, respect,

Kodiko

 

Funny URL of the blog: http://www.motivatedphotos.com/?id=6554

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2009 by in Life.
